• Office Hours:
  • Monday – Friday
  • 10am – 2pm


  • House Tours are currently NOT AVAILABLE, thank you!




Towns & Villages

Street scene in Carlos, Douglas County, Minnesota

The first post-office in the county was established in 1858, at Alexandria village, with Alexander Kinkead as the first postmaster. A man named Evans, whose name has been perpetuated by naming a village, Evansville, in his honor, was the first mail carrier, and for nearly a year carried the mail on foot from St. Cloud to Fort Abercrombie, a distance of one hundred and fifty miles or more.

Douglas County is proud of its heritage and its towns.  Our resources include histories, maps and plats and other village information.

Current and Historic Villages in Douglas County

  • Alexandria
  • Brandon
  • Carlos
  • Dent
  • Evansville
  • Forada
  • Fryksende
  • Garfield
  • Geneva
  • Holmes City
  • Interlachen Park
  • Kensington
  • Melby
  • Millerville
  • Miltona
  • Nelson
  • Osakis
  • Rose Hill
  • Spruce Center
  • Spruce Hill