Solem Church Preservation Association formed in 2008 as the dwindling congregation of this Lutheran Church found it could no longer stay active with regular Sunday worship services. The church had its official beginning in 1876 and its early services were held in Norwegian.
An interesting historical note: the Olof Ohman family lot (Lot #1) is in the Solem Cemetery which surrounds the church. Olof discovered the Runestone on his farm in 1898. The Ohman Farm and today’s Runestone Park is one mile east and across the fields from the church. Rich history has followed the church through its 132 active years as a congregation.
The Preservation Association is actively seeking funds and fundraising events to continue the maintenance of the church. The church building is available after May 15, 2009 for baptisms, weddings and reunions.
The sanctuary can be rented for $250 per event and the fellowship hall and kitchen may be rented for $100. No food may be prepared in the kitchen, only served. Indoor bathrooms are available.
Contact Peggy Huntley at (320) 986-2478 for more information.